Love is a Donut

It took me forever to get the pictures of this day off of my camera, but a while back I was at the ferry building on the Embarcadero when I passed a stand for Pepples Donuts. They specialize in organic vegan donuts. Was I down? Of course I was down.

Darn you, ambient lighting.

Decisions, decisions.

I finally went with chocolate glazed.

No, I couldn’t wait until after the photo before I took a bite. Or three.

All in all, it was a pretty good donut. All donuts (and desserts in general, I guess) are best right after they’re made, and I was there later in the day so I’m sure it could have been even better. Still, this was not bad at all.

It was deliciously cakey, which has always been my kind of donut. I was always into thick cake donuts/crullers. I can dig those fluffy dessert-pillow deals, but I like some substance to my sweets. That’s not contradictory at all, I’ve decided. Of course, if you fill a fluffy donut with vanilla custard and you have a loyal friend in me forever. I’ve really got to veganize my own custard donut someday.

Well, until later…

P.S. I remember the first time I saw the word “donut” spelled as “doughnut” when I was a kid. I want to say I read it in an old Richard Scarry book– I don’t remember though. I went to my mom and asked her what in the world I was looking at. She told me it was the original spelling of the word. Mind = blown. Always one inclined toward word-related frilliness, I can’t help but to want to spell it the long way. I refrained in this post, but oh, I thought about it.

P.P.S. If you have any idea what the title of this post is a reference to, you win so hard. Seriously.

One thought on “Love is a Donut

  1. Ha that whole “donut” versus “doughnut” thing was crazy for me too. Also “thru” and “through”, “lite” and “light,” and “nite” and “night.” Haha.

    I really wish I could go to a place with vegan donuts! I miss donuts a lot.

Leave a Reply

