Gettin’ Kinda Hectic: Eventful November Ahead

On December 15th, 2009– my birthday– I created this blog and used it to make a declaration, perhaps more for myself than for anyone else. I announced that this blog would be a tool in my effort to make positive emotional, psychological, and social steps towards the future. Number one on my list of moving in that direction would be to accomplish the one goal that is easily my most desired: to finish writing the novel I have been working on (on and off, restart after restart) since I was seventeen. Of course, I also want to find an agent and to try to get it published. I hoped that over the course of 2010 I would be able to make meaningful progress on that journey.

Well, it’s late October 2010. Progress? Slim to none.

And though I could very easily veer off on a tangent to explore the complex reasons as to why that might be, I think I’ll save the almost unavoidable trip through Self-Pityville to maintain focused on just what I intend to do about that.

Although, even in avoiding my habit of dissecting past behavior, I think it should be noted that I feel as if I’ve been saving myself all year, waiting for just the right moment to take that step forward to begin limning my future.

Why? NaNoWriMo, that’s why.

I’ve been wanting to use National Novel Writing Month as a way of getting myself to truly sit down in front of my (not quite blank) Word document and write. I feel like the pressure of being forced to write everyday for a month (which must be done if the 50,000 word goal is to be met) is just what I need to propel myself into finishing SJL. SJL is a story that will need far more than 50,000 words to resolve itself, but all I need is a launching pad.

So here is what I’m to do. I will write as much as I can every day of November, trying to average maybe about 5 pages a day. I will update my progress on this blog, every day of November. If I don’t update, or if my update’s thin, feel free to frown, wrinkle your nose, and shake your head at me through your computer screen.

Notes: 1) SJL is already a started piece. Having said that, there’s not much work there– at all– so it’s not like I haven’t got anything to do all month. You might say, “That’s not fair, and it’s really not how NaNoWriMo works”, to which I would respond:

2) I’m not registered at the NaNoWriMo website. I’ve never had an account there. My progress will purely be on this blog (and in my Word document), and this month of writing will be more “in the spirit of” or “inspired by” NaNoWriMo, if that’s how you’d like to see it. The point is, I’m getting my work done, and that’s really all that matters to me.

I also was going to mention some other more foody, blog-centric activities I’ve considered engaging in during November for a while now, but I’ll hold off on that.

‘Til later…

Leave a Reply

