NaNo 2010 Day 7: Music is my Friend

Day Seven

Starting Word Count: 4055

Last Word Count: 11,586

Words Typed Today: 3112

Current Word Count: 14,698

Pages Typed Today: Ugh, who knows for sure? I’m getting too lazy to reformat the spacing once I take it out of the blank email. In its current state, it’s nine pages.

Writers’ Block Moments: Nothing serious.

Late Nights: None yet, and hopefully none ever.

Snippet: Nope, not tonight.

Notes: I got up early today (earlier than I realized, since I hadn’t set my clock back!) and I seem to have trouble getting started early, when it’s the first thing on my plate. It’s usually one of the first things I think about when I get up, but not one of the first things I want to do. Once I got started though, things began to flow nicely. I’ve reached a point in the plot that I’m really looking forward to pounding out, so that’s probably explains it.

Ordinarily, listening to music serves only as a tremendous distraction when I’m trying to get work done. I get completely absorbed in it and hours upon hours will disappear without me having done anything except bob my head or “Hee hee!” where appropriate. I wind up playing out elaborate fantasies or story plots in my head with the music in the background. In fact, listening to music is how I came up with idea for this novel over five years ago. It was purely inspired by one song.

Tonight though, somehow everything worked out. I used the music as a challenge– I put on a collection of songs and told myself I would write without end until the set ended.

The soundtrack? The music of Rephlex Records. I was serenaded by the sweet sounds of Monolith’s self-titled EP, Rushup Edge by The Tuss, and Analords 1, 2, 7, and 9 by AFX. More labels should put up entire albums for listening before purchase. That’s just polite. :) I thought about adding up the track times to figure out exactly how many hours worth of typing the music got me through, but that’s tedious and I’m lazy.

I figured something out. I need to start keeping a “new notes” journal for SJL. I have pages and pages and pages of notes for this novel, all written over years, but frankly, I don’t feel like paging through them for every detail– I’ve got most of them in my head. However, I’m finding myself needing to set up a new page of notes for new ideas that come to my head as I write.

Another interesting discovery tonight. Sometimes when I’m in the middle of typing, I actually get distracted by my own enthusiasm over the material. I was on a roll at one point when I realized that I’d stopped typing and gotten lost in my thoughts about all the cool stuff that was coming up ahead. Wow.

Probably the most important discovery tonight? Once I get to a point where I’m rereading what I’ve written and have started correcting or changing little things, it’s time to stop writing for the night. That generally means I’m too tired to make any more real progress, and since over-editing is also a habit I’m trying to break, that means it’s time to call it a night. I figured out that I had gotten to that point about five minutes ago.

Well, that ends the first week of NaNo! It’s moving so quickly! I’m seriously looking forward to my continued progress this month. Especially since now it’s got me totally juiced about finishing my screenplay and my short story collection.

One thought on “NaNo 2010 Day 7: Music is my Friend

  1. “often thinking about writing rather than doing it”
    That was me for a while. My wife finally said, what do you want to do with this? Do you want to take classes for a career you don’t really want or like, or do you want to write? I want to write, I want to share, I want to be a storyteller and entertain people.

    I can’t write to music with lyrics. That’s too distracting. Sometimes I use movie soundtracks. I know what you mean about a scene playing out with a song. There is one action scene going on in my head from the Last of the Mohicans soundtrack that I think about so often that now I think about that scene instead of the one from the movie when I hear it.

Leave a Reply

