NaNo 2010 Day 15: Ugh.

Starting Word Count: 4055

Last Word Count: 16,753

Words Typed Today: 706

Current Word Count: 17,459

Pages Typed Today: about 2 and a third, but again formatting is an issue. I just don’t feel like changing it.

Writers’ Block Moments: None really.

Late Nights: 0

Snippet: None today.

Notes: Still not done with the notes. A part of me can barely get through reading them. They’re a mess. What I was thinking, writing some of them, I don’t know. There is so much information squeezed into such small, at times illegible handwriting… aye. And for some of the pages, I wrote in pencil. EPIC FAIL. Nothing but smudges now.

I’m starting to wonder if I’ll actually meet the 50,000 word goal by the end of the month. Sure, there’s a lot of month left, but at my rate, even writing every day might not be enough if I only write a few hundred words each day.

This is something I was afraid of: getting hung up on the word count. Boiling down my writing experience to numbers. I don’t like that feeling, I don’t like how mechanical and distant that feels.

I know that my word count by the end of the month is really not the point in my case– the point is that I’m writing. Still, I’d like to be able to make a goal and meet it. The goal in this case is not just to write (pretty much) every day. The goal is to “finish” SJL, or for Nano’s sake, get it to novel length, 50,000 words. I’m fairly certain that my story won’t be complete 50,000 words in, and I surely will still be working on this story after November, but that number, that bar, is a novel, in a way. When I get to it, I’ll have a novel. And that will mean something.

There’s still time. And I’m not willing to push this far without aiming above the head.

Leave a Reply

