NaNo 2010 Day 21: More Help from the Past

Starting Word Count: 4055

Last Word Count: 18,234

Words Typed Today: 2597

Current Word Count: 20,831

Pages Typed Today: About 5

Writers’ Block Moments: None really.

Late Nights: 0

Snippet: None today.

Notes: Squeezed in a miniscule amount of work today. Only looks like more because part of today’s total was salvaged from my previous draft (it was a segment I was always planning to keep). Probably some of the best material left from previous drafts, other than what I lost in that hard drive mishap.

Okay, so there are about nine days left in this shenanigans we’re calling Nanowrimo. I’m only just hitting the 20,000 word mark. I need 50,000 words. Trying to pull that off before the thirtieth would be some feat, and I’m not going to pressure myself too much (not really interested in any more disappointment for this month, at this point), but if I were to reach the 50,000 word mark in nine days, it would mean writing between 3400 and 4000 words every day until Nov. 30th.

Not impossible. Probably not going to happen. But certainly no harm in trying, I guess. As I’ve said many times this month, tomorrow is another day.

Edit: Also, I’m totally working on that screenplay tonight. I’m kind of itching to work on it. BTW, I think I’ve come up with a working title for it: “Convergence”. Don’t ask what the word’s significance is, I honestly don’t completely remember why I picked it months ago. I remember that was what I titled the notes I typed up for it back when the seedling of an idea first came to me. I named it that in reference to an occurrence in the dream that inspired this screenplay. Now I’m at a loss as to what that was. Such is the nature of dreams, I suppose.

A back-and-forth I got into with my folks this afternoon really got me thinking about Convergence tonight. As for why, well, I’m sure you can probably guess that that story is probably best left for another post.

Leave a Reply

